24.2 C
New York
Monday, May 29, 2023

Sam Kerr, Erling Haaland win Footballer of the Year awards

“Off the back of the Euros, women’s football has grown a lot. Walking down the street, the crowds are bigger, everything’s just increased over the last year.”


Kerr and men’s Footballer of the Year Erling Haaland picked up their prizes at a gala dinner in central London to mark the 75th anniversary of the award that was first won by Stanley Matthews in 1948.

Manchester City’s Haaland, who’s scored 52 goals in 51 games ahead of Sunday’s Premier League finale at Brentford, is, like Kerr, still looking for more silverware, with the English champions in line for a treble of Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League.

“I feel good, it’s a special moment,” he told the FWA. “I expected to do good things but, to do this, I didn’t expect.”

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles